Hack a 250gb, 320gb or 500gb Sata harddrive to work in the Xbox 360 and Xbox 360 Slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. kookmasteraj

    kookmasteraj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    28
    When the new gears of war xbox comes out will this support making of new 320gb hard drives ?
     
  2. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    The Matrix
    1
     
  3. pbeezy

    pbeezy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will a 160GB drive work?

    Sorry if this has been asked, but will a 160GB HDD work? I read on the first post that it now works with the WD Scorpio Black Series BEKT, I have a WD1600BEKT and a WD1600BEVT
    both 160gb

    Thanks
     
  4. MasterChief

    MasterChief Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    The Internet
    Yes both will work fine, flash the 120gb security sector. You will only be able to use 120gb of space, not the full 160gb.
     
  5. pbeezy

    pbeezy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for everything

    Thanks for all the help. The 160GB drive with the 120 firmware workd great.
     
  6. Anthony1s

    Anthony1s New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I mistakenly formatted my xbox hdd to fat32. It's an original xbox hdd 20gb hitachi 5400rpm. Will this format it back to fatx? If not, Is there a way to do it?
     
  7. MasterChief

    MasterChief Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    The Internet
    Will the hard drive just not format by going to memory in the system settings on the 360?
     
  8. Anthony1s

    Anthony1s New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I won't. The Xbox doesn't see the drive when plugged in to the hard drive slot. I think the hard drive slot only reads fatx.

    It does recognize it as a USB storage device when I plug it into my Xbox via my Sata-USB cable. I don't think that matters though.
     
  9. MasterChief

    MasterChief Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    The Internet
  10. jleek

    jleek New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    @InsaneNutter

    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU.

    I bought the 360 Slim without a HDD and used your tutorial on the WD Blue Scorpio 250GB HDD and it worked flawlessly. It took about 15 minutes from making a bootable drive to formatting my HDD in the Xbox. Again, thanks so much, and to those that are skeptical this does work as long as you follow the instructions.

    Thanks again!
     
  11. Abdull1996

    Abdull1996 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excuse me, if i did this, can i do any of the following (i have the latest xbox just bought it):-
    - Install games on the hard drive and then no need for the cd to play it
    - Hack/Jailbreak Xbox 360 Slim to play copied discs?

    If no then please tell me how can i jailbreak it to do any of the above without opening the xbox ( i dont want to lose warranty)
     
  12. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,440
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
  13. scabsk8s

    scabsk8s New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i followed everything perfectly & got the message saying "firmware flashed successfully " tried putting it in the 360 slim & it is recognized but says its unformated.
    i tried to read through the pages but couldn't find any other problems like mine
    any help for this ?
     
  14. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    The Matrix
    you have to format it using the xbox 360
     
  15. scabsk8s

    scabsk8s New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    got it :D ...
    thanks
     
  16. Abdull1996

    Abdull1996 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys, i am sorry i am new to this. But can i download an iso for the xbox and use abgx360 and such files to make it work on the xbox? i have the latest xbox 360 S without any jailbreaking done to it.
     
  17. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,440
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I answered your post before, no not without opening the console and either flashing the DVD drive with firmware that will read burned games, or hacking your console with the Reset Glitch exploit.
     
  18. mnkeyprince

    mnkeyprince Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    well, im about to sell my 360 slim along with a 250gb scorpio black in anticipation of getting the gears of war 3 console. i will most likely rip the security sector for 320gb off it before selling it and making a 320gb scoprio black HD.

    just one observation, the only reason MS makes the HD size tied to the security sector is so they can incrementally increase the size while selling more HDs right? i mean, if it was easy to tweak the HD size, the 360 should handle it perfectly fine. if this was the case, it would be a snap for them to enable a 1 Tb scorpio blue, i heard a MS spokeswoman say they have to research and develop each drive so there will be no problems blah blah blah, that all PR bs?
     
  19. InsaneNutter

    InsaneNutter Resident Nutter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,440
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Yes, basically they can make a lot of money by only allowing hard drives with there security sector to work in the console.
    When i first hacked my 250gb drive it cost me £30 for the drive, at the time Microsoft were selling 120gb drives for £90! :| thats 3 times the cost for a drive with half the space...

    No research and development has to go in to the drive, I have a 1TB drive in my Jtagged Xbox 360 (no hard drive size restrictions on that console) and it works great.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Mr Toof

    Mr Toof New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N.Y.
    ok so i just got a 120gb hdd. Im all set to do the hack. i know that hddhackr has been around since 2007.. i just need some reinsurance that no one as fare as anyone knows, has been banned before...i know you have said it before, i just need to hear it once more before i go do this thing..i like doing this tipe of stuff and the info on this website is grate!!! thanks..
     

Share This Page