Hack a 250gb, 320gb or 500gb Sata harddrive to work in the Xbox 360 and Xbox 360 Slim

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Guides' started by InsaneNutter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. akomer

    akomer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having trouble figuring out how to change my SATA operation mode. I have an HP Pavillion dv6500 with a Phoenix BIOS system. I have tried going into my BIOS setup utility and there isn't an option to change my setting for this. I have also tried changing some of my registry settings. This is the only thing that is holding me back on hacking the drive. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    Location:
    The Matrix
    try a different computer & registry settings have nothing to do with this.
     
  3. akomer

    akomer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    im using my laptop, do u think I should try my old desktop?????
     
  4. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    Location:
    The Matrix
    yes.if it has sata ports it may work
     
  5. Tom Watson

    Tom Watson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there, just wondering if anyone has come across this problem, or what i might be doing wrong at all?

    I have a 160 gig Scorpio blue drive WD1600BEVT - was working fine as a external drive, so decided to flash it for the 360, followed the tutorial for hddhackr, loaded it onto a usb drive, put the drive in the laptop and fired it up, flashed it and created the partitions without a problem, no errors, the xbox sees the drive and will format it no probs, shows 106 gigs free, but my problems is when i download demos from xbl, it works prefectly fine for the first 6 gigs, but then once its downloaded 6gigs of demos, and the space on the drive gets to exactly 100gigs, the 360 wont download anything else, it just refuses to add anything else onto the drive, if i delete something it will start to download as normal till it reaches that 100gig mark then it will just say download failed... ive flashed and restored it so many times over the last few days and i always get the same problem.. anyone any ideas what may be causing it at all?

    regards tom.
     
  6. LsotMyFilm

    LsotMyFilm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this process appliciable to larger drives, like say, a 1Tb WD Scorpio Blue?
     
  7. Dark Scyth

    Dark Scyth Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    459
    You can get a 1TB drive to work, that being said only the amount usable will be the sectors you choose. So if you use the 320GB on the 1TB only 320GB of it can be used.
     
  8. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    Location:
    The Matrix
    @Tom Watson

    Try formatting it in the xbox so it asks for a serial number.

    If that still doesn't work undo the drive,run some checks & do a full format on the drive.
     
  9. Ziri

    Ziri New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 500 gb scorpio blue formatted 320gb x360... The games installed worked slow... Any solution?
     
  10. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Format it in the xbox so it asks for a serial number.

    If that still hasn't fixed the problem undo the drive with hddhackr,run some checks & do a full format on the drive.
     
  11. Ziri

    Ziri New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have try format zero... zero bad block, hdd is ok but don't work in x360...
    Random "tic tic" in game and slow load...
     
  12. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    Location:
    The Matrix
    maybe its a faulty drive,undo it then replace it
     
  13. akomer

    akomer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, ive gotten to the hacking part, but it doesnt ask me to partition after asking to flash the firmware (like the photo shows)...........so i have flashed it, then partitioned it and tried it in the xbox, but it doesnt work.....PLEASE HELP????
     
  14. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Plug it in a pc and see what drive it detects,you can check in the bios or in device manager. What is the hard drive brand?
     
  15. akomer

    akomer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is a western digital Scorpio blue 250GB, and when i plug it in, it comes up as a portable harddrive and it wont register under the xplorer360, it comes and says that there is no FATX drive connected....I am so confused
     
  16. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Go to device manager and open the disk drives tab. what drives are listed? The image below shows where.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. akomer

    akomer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    it shows the following below:

    Hitachi HTS545025B9SA00 ATA Device (Drive for xbox)
    Maxtor 6Y160M0 ATA Device (Slave Drivefor Computer)
    SanDisk Cruzer Micro (USB DRIVE)

    i think the hack worked, its just not working in the xbox itself...and I have tried undo-ing the hack and then redo-ing it, and it still doesnt work
     
  18. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    Location:
    The Matrix
    did you use the create partitions option after flashing?
     
  19. akomer

    akomer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea, i selected to flash the firmware first and then i selected to create partition 0/2/3 and then it finished and just sat there with a green word marker (_) and i couldnt type anything after that, so i turned off the computer
     
  20. Rick

    Rick Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    Location:
    The Matrix
    which hddhackr are you using?
    it should show up on the xbox if it doesn't, then do this.
    undo the drive in hddhackr
    format the drive as ntfs(quick) in windows
    redo the hack
     

Share This Page